Governing Board



Debbie Justeson
Debbie Justeson, Board President

Debbie Justeson, who was elected to the Governing Board in 2010, is the 2022 Board President. She has been an educator for about 35 years and her teaching experience spans from preschool to post-graduate-level courses. She continues to teach full-time as a math teacher at San Diego Virtual School, and as a lecturer for the Department of Teacher Education at San Diego State University. She previously taught math at Grossmont and Cuyamaca colleges and received the Adjunct Teacher of the Year Award twice. She has presented at several math conferences nationwide and as an adjunct faculty member, was actively involved in campus committees and teachers' associations. Trustee Justeson believes that education is the best pathway out of poverty; thus, she is devoted to promoting higher education to East County youth and their families. 

Brad Monroe
Brad Monroe, Board Vice President

Brad Monroe, who was elected in 2018, is the 2022 Board Vice President after serving as President in 2021. He has 43 years of experience as a community college educator. He was founding chair of the Ornamental Horticulture program at Cuyamaca College for 32 years, after serving as founding chair of the Southwestern College Ornamental Horticulture program. His focus as a trustee includes providing the students with the highest quality education, maintaining financial stability in the District, improving District operational functions, and working with District staff on the oversight of construction projects in the District.

Elena Adams
Elena Adams, Board Clerk

Elected in 2016, Elena Adams is the 2022 Board Clerk. She was an educator for 38 years at the San Diego Community College District, retiring in 2018 as well as Grossmont Adult School (1983-1998). She received the Unsung Hero Award two times from the San Diego Community College District and, in her work as a PTA president and secretary, was awarded the State of California PTA Service Award. Trustee Adams has been an East County resident for 43 years and her children attended East County public schools, including Grossmont College. She is committed to student success in college transfer and career technical training programs and assisting students in becoming economically self-sufficient.

Julie Schorr
Julie Schorr

Julie Schorr, who was elected in 2020, has been a public school teacher for 29 years. She holds a Master of Arts degree in counseling from San Diego State University and a California administrative credential. She is a department chair at Granite Hills High School and teaches World Language classes, as well as Acellus, a credit-recovery teaching platform. Schorr received the American Association of Teachers of French outstanding teacher award in 2018 and was named Teacher of the Year in 2017. She wrote the self-study that allowed Granite Hills High School to become an International Baccalaureate school, the only such school in East County. She is committed to ensuring an equitable teaching and learning environment for all faculty, staff, and students; promoting diversity, equity, cultural awareness, and inclusion at the colleges; and ensuring that community college education remains affordable and accessible for all students.  

Desi Klaar
Desiree "Desi" Klaar

Elected in 2022, Desiree “Desi” Klaar served as a human resources professional in public education for 15 years. She now teaches business and marketing through San Diego Community College District’s California College and Career Access Pathways (CCAP) program. Desi enjoys developing processes, establishing goals, and using her analytical skills to achieve results. Once a Grossmont College student, Desi said the education she received changed her life. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in business from the University of Phoenix, and a master’s in biology from Miami University of Ohio. Among her priorities are increasing community outreach and engagement to ensure that potential students are aware of the many opportunities available at Grossmont and Cuyamaca colleges.

Sasha Revas
Sasha Reva, Grossmont College Student Trustee

Sasha Reva, a double major in political science and media communications, was elected Grossmont College Student Trustee in 2022. Originally from Ukraine, Sasha immigrated to the United States five years ago. Sasha has been active in student government, serving as Director of Campus Activities for the Associated Students of Grossmont College. In this role, she led the organization of a festival in fall 2021 designed to build community. Sasha is also involved with the local Republican Party of San Diego, serving as Executive Junior Political Coordinator. From Grossmont College, she hopes to transfer to San Diego State University or Liberty University.

Courtney Etnyre
Courtney Etnyre, Cuyamaca College Student Trustee

Courtney Etnyre became Cuyamaca College’s Student Trustee in 2022. Courtney is seeking both an associate degree in real estate from Cuyamaca College and an associate degree in American Sign Language from Grossmont College. Courtney hopes to change careers and become a real estate broker. She previously served as Executive Vice President of the Associated Student Government of Cuyamaca College. Courtney supported Cuyamaca’s first Take Back the Night event on behalf of the student government, and hopes to make it an annual gathering. The event is designed to support survivors of sexual assault and interpersonal violence. Courtney also works to improve emergency preparedness as a volunteer with San Diego County Fire’s Community Emergency Response Team.